2019 Leadership Election Candidates

IFT is pleased to announce the launch of the 2019 IFT Leadership Election. This process includes notifying you of the slate of candidates identified for IFT 2019–2020 President-Elect and the Board of Directors.

Our ten talented candidates offer a breadth of knowledge about the profession, a diverse volunteer history within IFT and beyond, and an unwavering commitment to each of you.

The candidates are as follows:

Candidates for President-Elect

  • Noel Anderson, PhD, Managing Partner, Mosaic Food Advisors, LLC, United States
  • Chris Findlay, PhD, CFS, Chairman, Compusense Inc., Canada

Candidates for Board of Directors

  • Adelia Bovell-Benjamin, PhD, CFS, Professor, Tuskegee University, United States
  • Bruce Ferree, CFS, Senior Food Scientist, Insight Food Safety Consulting, United States
  • Mario Ferruzzi, PhD, Professor, Food Science and Nutrition, North Carolina State University, United States
  • Sanjay Gummalla, PhD, Vice President Scientific and Regulatory Affairs, American Frozen Food Institute, United States
  • Sean Leighton, Global VP, Food Safety, Quality & Regulatory Affairs, Cargill, United States
  • Brendan Niemira, PhD, Research Leader, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, United States
  • Gunnar Sigge, PhD, Head of Department and Associate Professor, Food Science, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Yanyun Zhao, PhD, Professor, Food Science and Technology and Associate Dean of Graduate School, Oregon State University, United States

In addition, IFT is pleased to announce the candidates selected for the IFT Nominations & Elections Committee. These five talented individuals offer a breadth of knowledge about the profession, as well as an unwavering commitment to the long-term success of IFT by ensuring that we have a continuous succession of dedicated volunteer leaders to guide our organization.

Our Nominations & Elections Committee candidates are:

  • John Coupland, Professor of Food Science, Penn State University, United States
  • Anne Goldman, Vice President of Consumer Research, ACCE International, Canada
  • Enrique Palou, Distinguished Professor, Universidad de las Americas Puebla, Mexico
  • Darryl Riley, SVP Quality, Food Safety and R & D Hostess Brands, United States
  • Marcia Walker, Vice President of Food Safety and Research, Tofurky Inc., United States

IFT’s voting membership elects three members for the Nominations & Elections Committee (candidates coming soon), along with one member for President-Elect and four members for the Board of Directors. During our election, from February 1– March 4, 2019, IFT members will be able to cast their ballots electronically from any Internet-accessible computer worldwide. IFT will send out an “Election Open” message via email on February 1 to all IFT voting members with details on how to cast your vote.

Please forward any questions about the slate, petition process, or the online election to Anna Desai, staff liaison to the Nominations & Elections Committee, at adesai@ift.org.


Nominations & Elections Timeline

January 21-24
Ask The President-Elect Candidates Questions on IFTConnect

Candidate profile promotion 

February 1 – March 4
Election voting is open 

March 5-8
All candidates will be contacted