University of Arkansas Eligible Degree and Option: B.S. Food Science Concentration

Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas 72704


More Info: Undergraduate brochure (PDF)


Program Description

Food Science is a department in the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences and Division of Agriculture at the University of Arkansas that serves as a primary source of higher education, fundamental and applied research and public service. The Department of Food Science fosters programs for achieving regional, national and international excellence that contribute to the advancement of knowledge and technologies, professional development and economic success of individuals and food and food related enterprises.

The Department of Food Science consists of 14 nationally recognized faculty and 10 adjunct faculty along with outstanding support personnel who are dedicated to teaching, research and service in areas of food chemistry and quality, microbial food safety, food processing, food packaging, sensory analysis, food engineering, functionality and health benefits of foods. The Food Science facilities including classrooms, laboratories and food processing pilot plant are modern and well equipped for effective education and research.