Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award: James Griffiths $3,000 honorarium and a plaque from the Bernard L. Oser Endowment Fund of the IFT Foundation

James GriffithsJames Griffiths
, Vice President, Food, Dietary Supplement and Traditional Medicine Standards, United States Pharmacopoeia, has received the 2012 Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award for his contributions to the scientific knowledge of food ingredient safety and leadership in establishing principles for food ingredient safety evaluation or regulations.

Griffiths is board certified in toxicology and a fellow of the Society of Biology. Currently he is Chair of the IFT Toxicology and Safety Evaluation Division and Chair of the Society of Toxicology Food Safety Specialty Section (FS3). His contributions to food safety research have added to the understanding of functional food safety, adulteration or deliberate contamination of food ingredients, and the toxicity of several food ingredients, additives, and contaminants including D-ribose, spirulina, polydextrose, high-selenium yeast, solvents, and arsenic. His research about and writing on quality standards and the deliberate contamination of food ingredients are particularly important in the post-9/11 world as governments face the challenges of potential food terrorism.