Institute of Food Technologists Names 2009 Congressional Science Award Winners

April 28, 2009



Institute of Food Technologists Names 2009 Congressional Science Award Winners

WASHINGTON, D.C.– Recognizing the importance of focused and intentional Congressional efforts advancing food science and technology, the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) announces that the recipients of its annual Congressional Support for Science Award are Senator Kent Conrad, Democrat, North Dakota, and Congressman Bob Goodlatte, Republican, Virginia.

The recipients will be recognized by IFT and presented their awards at a reception on Tuesday, May 12, in Washington, D.C.

“Throughout his more than 20 years in Washington, Senator Conrad helped write the 2002 and 2008 Farm Bills and has provided experience and leadership as an advocate for agriculture,” said IFT President Sheri Schellhaass. “Senator Conrad is one of the most senior members of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry and a leading advocate for American farmers and ranchers on a wide range of agricultural, trade, tax, and budget issues.” In addition, he has been a long-time supporter of country of origin labeling (COOL). “This is a clear benefit to consumers because Senator Conrad believes they have a right to know the country of origin of the foods they buy,” noted Schellhaass.

Congressman Bob Goodlatte serves on the House Agriculture Committee, where he is the Ranking Minority Member on the Subcommittee of Conservation, Credit, Energy and Research. “This important subcommittee deals with a wide range of issues including agricultural research and education,” says Schellhaass. “He also serves on the Subcommittee on Livestock, Dairy and Poultry. This is of special importance to the district he represents -- Virginia’s Sixth Congressional District -- since it is one of the nation’s leading producers of turkey and poultry.” The Congressman also secured funding for the Biodesign and Processing Research Center (BPRC) at Virginia Tech, which develops new and innovative approaches to production agriculture by adding value to commodity crops.

Selected by an independent panel of IFT members, the Congressional Support for Science Award recognizes distinguished service as legislator, policy-maker or advocate for advancing the role of science and technology in food and agricultural policies. The award is presented annually to two members of Congress as acknowledgment for outstanding contributions during the previous year. The 2008 recipients were Congressman Ed Whitfield, Republican, Kentucky, and Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro, Democrat, Connecticut.



About IFT
Founded in 1939, the Institute of Food Technologists is a nonprofit scientific society with more than 20,000 individual members working in food science, food technology, and related professions in industry, academia, and government. IFT serves as a conduit for multidisciplinary science thought leadership, championing the use of sound science through knowledge sharing, education, and advocacy. For more information on IFT, visit