Barbara Petersen Honored by IFT

May 18, 2010


Mindy Weinstein

Barbara Petersen Honored by IFT

CHICAGO-- Barbara Petersen, Principal Scientist, Exponent,  has been selected as the winner of the 2010 Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award by the Institute of Food Technologists, a not-for-profit international society with members working in food science, technology and related professions.

The Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredients Safety Award is given yearly to honor an IFT member for his or her contribution to the scientific knowledge of food ingredient safety, or leadership in establishing principles for food ingredient safety evaluation or regulation. The award will be presented at IFT’s Annual Meeting and Food Expo in Chicago, IL on July 17th 2010, and includes a $3,000 honorarium and a plaque from the Bernard L. Oser Endowment Fund of the IFT Foundation.

Petersen’s groundbreaking work in establishing methodologies for exposure assessment is now used worldwide by food safety organizations and authorities. She also designed the Tolerance Assessment System for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to use in evaluating pesticides. Petersen has made significant contributions to food toxicology issues within IFT, organizing more than a dozen workshops and symposia as part of her active involvement with the Toxicology and Food Safety Evaluation Division. She recently served as Editor of the IFT Expert Report, Functional Foods: Opportunities and Challenges, and as Subject Expert for IFT’s participation in the CODEX General Principles meeting. 

IFT recognizes the many accomplishments that individuals and organizations have made to advance the food science industry and to help ensure safe, affordable, and nutritious foods to the world.  To honor these individuals and organizations, the IFT Awards Program was created. This program grants awards, fellowships, and prizes for outstanding accomplishments in all areas of food science and technology, administering 14 Achievement Awards, the Marcel Loncin Research Prize, and the IFT Fellows program.  A complete list of Award Winners can be found on the IFT Web site at