IFT Appoints 2016 Chairs and Members of the International Food Science Certification Commission

September 22, 2016

CHICAGO – The Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) today announced the appointment Brenda Knapp-Polzin, MS, CFS (Cargill) as chair and Norma Dawkins, PhD, CFS (Tuskegee University) as vice-chair of the International Food Science Certification Commission (IFSCC). IFSCC oversees the governance and policy making of the Certified Food Scientist (CFS) program. Additionally, Sanjay Gummalla, PhD, CFS (American Frozen Food Institute), Deirdre Schlunegger (STOP Foodborne Illness), and Moira McGrath (OPUS International) were appointed as commissioners to serve three-year terms on IFSCC.

IFT debuted the CFS credential in 2013 to recognize the applied scientific knowledge and skills of food scientists. The IFSCC ensures the autonomy of the CFS program and provides appropriate oversight of the certification process.  The CFS program governance, exam creation and administration are designed to meet standards of internationally-recognized certification programs – the International Standards Organization (ISO) 17024 standard for personnel certification programs. 

“The launch of the Certified Food Scientist program marked an important milestone for the profession by helping both professionals and their organizations raise the visibility of food science,” says Knapp-Polzin. “As IFSCC chair, it’s an absolute joy and privilege to see how the program is growing and the importance a CFS certification brings to a professional’s career.”  

The CFS program now has more than 1,800 certificants in 800 organizations from 55 countries around the world. These include ingredient and consumer package goods companies, universities, consultancies, government agencies, and many more. All 16 of the 2016 Fortune 500 companies categorized as either Beverage or Food Consumer Goods companies have Certified Food Scientists on staff.

In order to obtain a CFS, a candidate must meet the eligibility requirements and take an exam. The program itself complements both academic and work experience, and ultimately, helps demonstrate the profession’s commitment to safe, nutritious and plentiful food supply for all.

IFT recognizes outgoing chair Ivette Bassa, CFS (Mondelēz) and fellow outgoing commissioners Jim Mathews (JEM Innovations) and Alex Oliveira, PhD, CFS (BluWrap) for their leadership and service on the commission. Please visit http://www.ift.org/certification/about-the-commission.aspx to learn more about IFSCC.

View a list of all the certificants
Learn more about the CFS certification
Hear what others have to say about CFS

About IFT 
Founded in 1939, the Institute of Food Technologists is committed to advancing the science of food. Our non-profit scientific society—more than 17,000 members from more than 90 countries—brings together food scientists, technologists and related professionals from academia, government and industry. For more information, please visit ift.org.