PSIFT Home Page


Executive Committee



Career Corner

Golf Tournament

Supplier's Night

Volunteer's Job Description

Mission Statement

PSIFT Bylaws


Contact Us

National IFT

donation link

    Wild About Salmon 

Chef Bret
Chef Bret Lynch of Evergreen Culinary Solutions delivers his popular
and informative salmon demonstration. In addition to explaining the
differences in salmon species, Bret showed the audience how to fillet a
fish like a professional.  This was complimented by a sensory session
comparing the wild and farmed salmon species.

Scholarship Night 2011

The Puget Sound section of the Institute of Food Technologists handed out 9 scholarships
at the annual Scholarship Night at Meridian Valley Country Club in Kent on May 10, 2011.

This year, PSIFT awarded $9,500 in scholarship money. The money for the scholarships was raised at our annual Supplier's Night that was held back in March of this year. Thank you to all of our suppliers who attended the Supplier's Night event and made it possible for PSIFT to award these scholarships.

The scholarship committee (Megan Leifson, Josephine Pompey, Kristen Yaney, Kimberly Bowman and Paul Cole) reviewed many applications. All applications must meet the criteria to be considered for an award. In the end, nine applications were selected. There are four Outstanding Student Awards and five Travel Awards.

See 2010 Scholarship Photos

                  Students 2011
Megan Leifson presents Outstanding Scholarship awards.
Packed House: We had a terrific turnout to see Bret's presentation and to support our students.

Fermin Resurreccion walks us through his poster.

Student Award
Travel Awards presented by Megan Leifson and
Scholarship committee members (not pictured)
Kimberly Bowman, Kristen Yaney and Paul Cole.

High TEch
Sometimes high tech presentations need human help.

Ofero Caparino explains his poster for the competition.

The Scholarships and the Recipients

Outstanding Student Awards:

Maria Soto                                                                       Ph.D.  Food Science

Luis Castro                                                                     
Ph.D. Food Science

Mikaela Easter                                                             
Food Science (Junior)

Ande Flower                                                                   
AAS Culinary Arts (Sophomore)

Travel Awards:

Ofero Caparino                                                            Poster - IFT Annual Meeting Graduate level

Roopesh Syamaladevi                                            Poster - IFT Annual Meeting Graduate level
                                                                                                (see competition results)

Sumeet Dhawan                                                         Poster - IFT Annual Meeting Graduate level
                                                                                                IFT Student Oral Professional Development Finalist

Fermin Resurreccion                                             Poster - Microwave Power Symposium Graduate level

Matthew Allan                                                             Matthew Allan - IFTSA Product Development Competition
                                                                                                 (see project results)

Click here (DOC) to learn more about the scholarships and award criteria.

See 2009 Scholarship Photos

-Return to top of page-