Gilbert A. Leveille Award and Lectureship

Purpose: Recognizes outstanding research and/or public service at the interface between the disciplines of nutrition and food science, over a period of five years or more, which has contributed to improved health and well-being.

The lecture will be delivered each year, with the venue alternating between the IFT (even years) and ASN (odd years) annual meetings. It is recommended that the lecture should not exceed 45 minutes in length, in order to create continuity with the rest of the scientific program. Individuals are limited to receiving the award once (either from ASN or IFT).

Sponsor: Institute of Food Technologists and American Society for Nutrition (ASN)

Award: $3,000 honorarium and a plaque

Eligibility:  Candidates for awards need not be members of the ASN or IFT. An individual who has received one ASN award is not eligible to receive another award unless it is for accomplishments not covered by the first award.

Special Instructions:

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination Statement (Must not be more than four typed pages; curriculum vitae or lists of publications and patents are not acceptable.)
  • Letter of Reference

This prize is awarded in even numbered years.

2020: Barbara Schneeman

2018: Rui Hai Liu

2016: Bruce German

2014: John W. Erdman

2012: Jonathan C. Allen