Foundation  - Feeding Tomorrow banner

Scholarship Recipients

Feeding Tomorrow scholarships enrich students' lives by making it possible to focus on their studies and extend their experience beyond the classroom with internships or travel scholarships to the IFT Annual Event & Food Expo. Meet some of the students who are already reaping the benefits of support from Feeding Tomorrow.

Scholarship Recipient Testimonials


Congratulations to our 2020 Scholarship Recipients

Feeding Tomorrow is pleased to announce this year’s scholarship recipients. In total, we were able to award $108,000 in academic scholarships to students in the science of food.

Intern+ Scholarships
bioMérieux Intern+
Ukti Joshi, Illinois Institute of Technology

General Mills Intern+
Cameron Wicks, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Ingredion Intern+
Lydia Waterman, University of Idaho
Mérieux NutriSciences Intern+
Sayali Narkhede, Illinois Institute of Technology

PepsiCo Intern+
Eileen Foerster, University of Illinois

Synergy Flavors Intern+
Erin Kelleher, The Ohio State University
Graduate Scholarships
Dr. Richard L. Hall Scholarship in Flavor Science
Yara Benavides Paz, University of Minnesota
Luciano Junoy, University of Florida

Edlong Scholarship
Lauren Sipple, University of Wisconsin–Madison

IFT Education, Extension, and Outreach Division Scholarship
Matthew Frederiksen, Chapman University

Feeding Tomorrow General Graduate Scholarship – Top Ranking
Karla Acosta, University of Houston*
Franklin Bonilla, Louisiana State University
Brianna Britton, Purdue University
Sarah Caballero, California State University
Laura Eckhardt, University of Minnesota
Lindsay Jenkinson, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Karuna Kharel, Louisiana State University
Abigail Krentz, The Ohio State University
Asmita Singh, University of Arkansas
Alexander Taylor, University of Illinois

Gerber Endowment in Pediatric Nutrition
Natalie Paterson, Chapman University
Galaxie Story, University of Massachusetts Amherst

IFT Sensory and Consumer Sciences Division Sliver Celebration PhD Scholarship
Ryan Ardoin, Louisiana State University

IFT Sensory Consumer Sciences Division Silver Celebration MS Scholarship
Meera Patel, University of Illinois

Institute for Thermal Processing Specialists PhD Degree Scholarship
Amanda Dainton, Kansas State University

Institute for Thermal Processing Specialists MS Degree Scholarship
Cynthia Orwa, University of Nairobi

Mike Jimenez Scholarship, Sponsored by the IFT International Division
Ariel Garsow, The Ohio State University

*Top-ranked general scholarship recipient.

Undergraduate Scholarships

Arthur Schramm Scholarship
Rachel Mawn, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Barbara B. Keenan Scholarship
Anna Mahoney, North Dakota State University

Dr. Ann C. Hollingsworth Student Leadership Scholarship
Cydney Jackson, Alabama A&M University

Edlong Scholarship
Alyssa Thibodeau, Oregon State University

Evan Turek Memorial Scholarship
Alexa Giacche, University of Maryland, College Park
Lauren Moyer, Alabama A&M University

Feeding Tomorrow General Undergraduate Scholarship
Jonathan Brumley, University of Idaho*
Steven Buchholz, University of Illinois
Philip Eberly, Ohio State University
Jason Hsu, Pennsylvania State University
Kylie Ippolito, Clemson University
Sandi Levine, University of Minnesota
Madeline Mertdogan, University of Illinois
Clarissa Somers, University of Kentucky
Akino Tomizawa, Rutgers University
Ava Weyrich, University of Kentucky

IFT Food Engineering Division Scholarship 
Howard Toledo, Escuela Superior Politecnica del Litoral

IFT Food Microbiology Division Scholarship 
Alencia Lamb, Alabama A&M University

IFT Past Presidents Scholarship
Jessica Christoffer, South Dakota State University

Institute for Thermal Processing Specialists – Irving Pflug Memorial Scholarship 
Mariah Mier, University of California, Davis

John and Irene Powers Scholarship
Molly Carroll, Purdue University

Julie Vande Velde Leadership Scholarship
Julia Schmidt, Purdue University

McCormick & Company Scholarship
Niamh Schumacher, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

*Top-ranked general scholarship recipient.

Freshman Scholarships
Feeding Tomorrow General Freshman Scholarship
Chloe Calhoun, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Leah Keesling, Purdue University
Mary Serviss, University of Florida
Claire Steinkuhl, Purdue University
Summer Scholars
The Feeding Tomorrow Summer Scholars Program has partnerships with Cornell University, North Carolina State University, and The Ohio State University. In 2020, there were no recipients for this program due to the COVID-19 health crisis.

Our Programs >

Discover the types support we provide food science students through our scholarship and internship programs.


Feeding Tomorrow offers academic scholarships to current graduate and undergraduate students in the science of food, as well as to incoming freshman. We also offer travel scholarships to the IFT Annual Event & Food Expo.

Learn more about our scholarships program


The Feeding Tomorrow Intern+ Program connects students interested in exploring careers, building practical skills, and gaining real world experience in the science of food with internship opportunities at leading food companies.

Learn more about Intern+

Recent Donors right arrow

  • Sal Distasio
  • Afua Tetteh
  • Seow Yong
  • Jeong-Weon Kim
  • Bill Becker
  • John Keaveney
  • Nesha Zalesny