College Bowl

Entry must be submitted by 11:59pm Central Time on January 31.

Since 1985, the IFTSA College Bowl Competition has tested the knowledge of student teams from across the United States in the areas of food science and technology, history of foods and food processing, food law, and general IFT/food-related trivia.

The College Bowl is designed to facilitate interaction among students from different universities, stimulate the students' desire to accumulate and retain knowledge, and provide a forum for students to engage in friendly competition. Teams for IFT Student Chapters in eight geographical areas of the Student Association compete in area competitions prior to the IFT Annual Meeting. The winning teams from the eight areas then compete in a final competition at the Annual Meeting.

All finalists receive a $1000 travel grant. The national champion earns a $1000 award, and the runner-up a $750 award.

Submit your Entry

2015 Winner: North Carolina State University

1st Runner Up: The Ohio State University

IFT15 Finalists

University Name Region
North Carolina State University Central Atlantic
The Ohio State University Midwest
Chapman University Mountain West
Cornell University North Atlantic
University of Minnesota North Central
University of California, Davis Pacific West
Texas A&M University South Central
University of Georgia Southeast



January 31

Chelsey Hinnekamp
University of Minnesota

Competition Rules (PDF)
IFTSA Competition Penalty Policy
Question Format Instructions (PDF)
Question Submission Template (xls) 

Submit your Entry


2014 - 2015 Sponsors:

Nestle Purina

Nestle Gerber