Undergraduate Research Competition

Designed to showcase outstanding research at the undergraduate level, this competition seeks students engaged in independent research who are interested in presenting at the IFT Annual Event. Finalists will have the opportunity to network with members of both industry and academia.


Any student member of IFT, as of March 15, 2020, who is an undergraduate student or who has not graduated prior to July 1, 2019, is eligible to compete. Work must have been done individually by an undergraduate. For complete details, consult the Rules and Regulations document for this competition.


All finalists will be awarded a $500.00 travel award to attend the IFT20 Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL. Finalists are required to attend IFT20 in order to be eligible for the travel award.

A certificate will be presented to each finalist, as well as the first, second, and third place awards ($1,000, $750, and $500, respectively) during the IFTSA Closing Ceremony. Prize money will be delivered to the winners by mail following the IFT20 Annual Meeting.

Undergraduate Research Competition


March 15, 2020 at 11:59 pm

Yiqi Mitchie Zhao
National University of Singapore


Competition Rules (PDF)
Sample Verification Letter (PDF)