College Bowl

The deadline for 2018 College Bowl Team Rosters and Questions was January 31, 2018.

Since 1985, the IFTSA College Bowl Competition has tested the knowledge of student teams from across the United States in the areas of food science and technology, history of foods and food processing, food law, and general IFT/food-related trivia.

The College Bowl is designed to facilitate interaction among students from different universities, stimulate the students' desire to accumulate and retain knowledge, and provide a forum for students to engage in friendly competition. Teams for IFT Student Chapters in eight geographical areas of the Student Association compete in area competitions prior to the IFT Annual Meeting. The winning teams from the eight areas then compete in a final competition at the Annual Meeting.

All finalists receive a $1000 travel grant. The national champion earns a $1000 award, and the runner-up a $750 award.

Competition Guidelines

2017 National Champions:

1st Place Pennsylvania State University

2nd Place University of Wisconsin Madison

3rd Place University of California Davis


Questions submitted: January 31
Names of team members: January 31
Regional competitions: dates vary
Final team roster: 1 week prior to regional competition

Nicole Gaudino
Iowa State University

Competition Rules (PDF)
Questions Template (XLSX)
Team Roster Template (XLSX)
Training Video