• Unlock the Potential of the Food Science Community

2014 Award Recipients

Food science and technology matters. Professionals in the field improve availability, nutrition, and safety of the world's food supply. They bring scientific and technological innovation to an increasingly global marketplace. They give back to the community through teaching and leadership.


Babcock-Hart Award

Fereidoon Shahidi, Ph.D, University Research Professor in Biochemistry at Memorial University, Canada, and cross-appointed to Biology, Ocean Sciences, and Aquaculture, has received the 2014 Babcock-Hart Award for his outstanding and substantial contributions to lipid science and technology, muscle foods, natural antioxidants, and functional foods.

Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award

Charles Manley, Ph.D., CFS, Retired Vice President, Science and Technology at Takasago International Corporation, has received the 2014 Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award for his contributions to the scientific knowledge of the safety of food ingredients and flavors.

Bor S. Luh International Award

Theodore Labuza, Ph.D., Morse Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor of Food Science and Engineering in the Dept. of Food Science and Nutrition at the University of Minnesota, has received the 2014 Bor S. Luh International Award for his outstanding efforts within the food industry and in support of academics worldwide.

Calvert L. Willey Distinguished Service Award

Robert Gravani, Ph.D., CFS, Professor of Food Science and Director of the National Good Agricultural Practices (GAPs) Program at Cornell University, has received the 2014 Calvert L. Willey Distinguished Service Award for providing continuous, outstanding service and stewardship to IFT for more than 45 years by serving in leadership positions on more than 40 committees, task forces, workgroups, and juries, including serving on the Board of Directors and as Past President.

Carl R. Fellers Award

H. Russell Cross, Ph.D., Head, Texas A&M University Department of Animal Science, is the 2014 Carl R. Fellers Award recipient for his outstanding work to improve the field of food science, inspire food engineers and scientists, and provide leadership to IFT and Phi Tau Sigma.

Food Technology Industrial Achievement Award

Buhler Barth GMBH has received the 2014 Food Technology Industrial Achievement Award for its research to preserve the hygienic and sanitary quality of foods in order to maintain the highest food safety standards for the sake of the health of the consumer and development of the Controlled Condensation Pasteurization Process (CCP), which was designed specifically to answer requirements to maintain natural quality of raw almonds. The CCP pasteurization technology pasteurizes particulate food items under humid conditions and controlled condensation of steam at the product surface. The CCP pasteurization technology is an impressive example of straightforward technological development in combination with engineering skills on sound physical principles, and by strictly observing quality requirements of food products.

Nicholas Appert Award

Patrick Dunne, Ph.D., Retired Senior Advisor in Advanced Processing and Nutritional Biochemistry for the Department of Defense Combat Feeding Directorate at the U.S. Army Research Center, has received the 2014 Nicholas Appert Award for his leadership in focused research in advanced food processing that has led to transition to new processing technologies, such as high pressure processing, pulsed electric field processing, and microwave sterilization to move from laboratory research to industrial adoption and production of improved food products.

Research and Development Award

Kevin Keener, Ph.D., Professor of Food Science, Purdue University, has received the 2014 Research and Development Award for his research program that enhances food quality and food safety, improves processing efficiencies, and reduces waste in food manufacturing.

Samuel Cate Prescott Award for Research

Hang Xiao, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Food Science at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, has received the 2014 Samuel Cate Prescott Award for Research for developing a highly innovative research program focused on improving the health and wellness of the food supply.

W.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award and Lectureship

Olive Yao Li, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, California Polytechnic State University, Pomona, has received the 2014 W.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award and Lectureship for her research work on microencapsulation-based delivery systems that resulted in technology that can serve as a template for effective delivery of micronutrients in sizes comparable with the chosen food vehicles.

William V. Cruess Award for Excellence in Teaching

F. Xavier Malcata, Professor, College of Engineering, University of Porto, has received the 2014 William V. Cruess Award for Excellence in Teaching for his mastery of process engineering subjects, ability to communicate effectively the principles and practices of food processing, enthusiasm for the field of food engineering as a profession, ability to stimulate students to select a professional career in this field, and capacity to counsel effectively.

Sensory and Consumer Sciences Achievement Award

Herbert Stone, Ph.D., CFS, co-founder of the Sensory Evaluation Division and Past President, Tragon Corporation, received the 2014 Sensory and Consumer Sciences Achievement Award for profoundly impacting the field of sensory science, most notably with his development of the Quantitative Descriptive Analysis (QDA), which revolutionized how sensory scientists map the characteristics of foods and beverages.

Stephen S. Chang Award for Lipid or Flavor Science

Alejandro Marangoni, Ph.D., Tier 1 Canada Research Chair, University of Guelph, has received the 2014 Stephen S. Chang Award for Lipid or Flavor Science for his significant contribution to lipid science and his fundamental discoveries about the nature of fat crystals that have not only increased understanding of fat crystals but also contributed significantly to enhancing the industrial uses of fats.

Gilbert A. Leveille Award and Lectureship

John Erdman, Jr., Ph.D, Professor Emeritus, Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition, University of Illinois, has received the 2014 Gilbert A. Leveille Award and Lectureship for his outstanding scholarly contributions. His recent contributions relate to bioactives in foods that have functional health impact. His group focuses primarily on carotenoids and their ability to fight cancer.

Marcel Loncin Research Prize

Lisa J. Mauer, Ph.D, Professor, Department of Food Science, Director of the Center for Food Safety Engineering, Purdue University, has received the 2014 Marcel Loncin Research Prize for her research on the characterization and manipulation of water-solid interactions for physical and chemical stabilization of powdered food and bioactive ingredient systems and solid state structures with a current emphasis on creating amorphous solid dispersions of bioactive crystalline compounds.

Trailblazer Award and Lectureship

Johanna T. Dwyer, D.Sc., R.D., Professor of Medicine and Senior Nutrition Scientist at the Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging and Adjunct Professor of Nutrition at Tufts University and Tufts Medical Center and Senior Nutrition Scientist (contractor), Office of Dietary Supplements, National Institutes of Health, has received the 2014 Trailblazer Award and Lectureship for her exceptional nutrition knowledge, respect for other cultures, and understanding of food issues.



Congratulations to this year's IFT Achievement Awards recipients.

Each year, IFT recognizes the many accomplishments that individuals and organizations have made to advance food science and the food industry.

Learn More about IFT Awards