• Unlock the Potential of the Food Science Community

Achievement Awards

IFT’s Achievement Awards recognize an individual or team for remarkable contributions in research, applications, and service in the food science and technology industry.

Nominations for the 2016 Achievement Awards are closed. Recipients will be honored at IFT16 in Chicago in July.  

Excellence in Leadership (Teaching, Service, Leadership)
Carl R. Fellers Award
Honors an IFT member and Phi Tau Sigma member for their distinguished career in the food science and technology profession, and who has displayed exemplary leadership, service, and communication skills.

Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award

Awarded in odd years only.
Awarded for the pursuit of humanitarian ideals and unselfish dedication to the food industry, academia, students, or the general public.

Myron Solberg Award

Awarded in odd years only.
Honors leadership in industry/government/academia cooperative organization.

Nicolas Appert Award

Honors an IFT member or nonmember for contributions to the field of food technology.

William V. Cruess Award for Excellence in Teaching

Awarded for achieving excellence in teaching food science and technology.
Global Impact
Bor S. Luh International Award
Honors an IFT member or an institution whose outstanding efforts in the field of food technology resulted in international exchange of ideas; better international understanding; and/or practical successful transfer of food technology to an economically depressed area.

W.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award and Lectureship

Honors an IFT member working in academics, research institutes or the government, whose emerging research has made substantial advances on how foods can be better manufactured and made available for developing countries.
IFT Leadership
Calvert L. Willey Distinguished Service Award
Honors an individual who has provided continuing, meritorious and imaginative service to IFT.
Babcock-Hart Award
Awarded for food technology contributions that resulted in improved public health through nutrition or more nutritious food.

Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award
Awarded in even years only.
Awarded for contributions to food ingredient safety evaluation or regulation.

Gilbert A. Leveille Award and Lectureship
Join award with the American Society for Nutrition. Awarded by IFT even years only.
Recognizes outstanding research and/or public service in nutrition and food science, over a period of five years or more.

Food Technology Industrial Achievement Award
Honors a company or organization for significant advances in the application of food science and technology to food production.

Industrial Scientist Award
Awarded for a major technical contribution to the advancement of the food industry.

Marcel Loncin Research Prize
Awarded in even years only.
To award research funding for basic chemistry/physics/engineering research applied to food processing.

Research and Development Award
Awarded for significant research and development contribution to the understanding of food science, food technology, or nutrition.

Samuel Cate Prescott Award for Research
Awarded for outstanding research in food science and technology.

Sensory and Consumer Sciences Achievement Award
Recognizes excellence within the sensory and consumer sciences field.

Stephen S. Chang Award for Lipid or Flavor Science
Awarded in even years only.
Awarded for significant contributions to lipid or flavor science.

Trailblazer Award and Lectureship

Joint award with the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Awarded by IFT even years only.
Honoring the advancement of science at the nexus of nutrition or dietetics and food science for a least five (5) years.