Achievement Awards

The Institute of Food Technologists’ (IFT’s) Achievement Awards recognize an individual or team for remarkable contributions in research, applications, and service in the food science and technology industry.   

Nominations are now closed.

Carl R. Fellers Award
Honors an IFT member and Phi Tau Sigma member for their distinguished career in the food science and technology profession. It is awarded to someone who has displayed exemplary leadership, service, and communication skills.

Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award
Awarded in odd years only
Honors an IFT member for pursuit of humanitarian ideals and unselfish dedication that have resulted in significant contributions to the well-being of the food industry, academia, students, or the general public.

Myron Solberg Award
Awarded in odd years only
Honors an IFT member for providing leadership and excellence in the establishment and successful development and continuation of an industry/government/academia cooperative organization.

Nicolas Appert Award
Honors an IFT member or nonmember for contributions to the field of food technology

William V. Cruess Award for Excellence in Teaching
Awarded for achieving excellence in teaching food science and technology

Bor S. Luh International Award
Honors an IFT member or an institution whose outstanding efforts in the field of food technology resulted in the international exchange of ideas, better international understanding, and/or the practical, successful transfer of food technology to an economically depressed area

W.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award and Lectureship
Honors an IFT member working in academics, research institutes, or the government, whose emerging research has made substantial advances in how foods can be better manufactures and made available for developing countries

Calvert L. Willey Distinguished Service Award
Honors an individual who has provided continuing, meritorious, and imaginative service to IFT  

Babcock-Hart Award
Awarded for food technology contributions that resulted in improves public health through nutrition or more-nutritious food

Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award
Awarded in even years only
Awarded for contributions to food ingredient safety evaluation or regulation

Gilbert A. Leveille Award and Lectureship
Joint award with the American Society for Nutrition; awarded by IFT in even years only
Recognizes outstanding research and/or public service in nutrition and food science, over a period of five years or more

Gerhard J. Haas Award
Honors an IFT member for creative research in microbial aspects of food safety

Food Technology Industrial Achievement Award
Honors an industrial scientist or team of industrial scientists for technical contribution or a significant advancement in the application of food science and technology to food production

Marcel Loncin Research Prize
Awarded in even years only
Awards research funding for basic chemistry, physics, or engineering research applied to food processing

Research and Development Award
Awarded for a significant research and development contribution to the understanding of food science, food technology, or nutrition

Samuel Cate Prescott Award for Research
Awarded for outstanding research in food science and technology

Sensory and Consumer Sciences Achievement Award
Recognizes excellence within the sensory and consumer sciences field

Stephen S. Chang Award for Lipid or Flavor Science
Awarded in even years only
Awarded for significant contributions to lipid or flavor science

Trailblazer Award & Lectureship
Joint award with the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics; awarded by IFT in even years only.
Honoring the advancement of science at the nexus of nutrition or dietetics and food science for at least five (5) years

Member Impact background purple

IFT members make an impact

IFT members are making a positive impact on our global food system every day.

See IFT Member Accomplishments