Food Ingredient Safety Award in honor of Bernard L. Oser

Only awarded in even numbered years

Partner: The Bernard L. Oser Endowment Fund of Feeding Tomorrow

Award Description: Honors an individual who has provided contributions to the scientific knowledge of food ingredient safety and/or the implementation of programs to improve the safety or regulation of food ingredients.

Award: $3,000 honorarium and a crystal award from IFT

Criteria & Eligibility: This award recognizes achievements in food additive or ingredient safety, including, but not limited to, toxicological research, analytical research, safety or regulatory involvement, or associated scientific work in support of food additive and ingredient safety evaluation, and policy development. Nominees must demonstrate the impact of their work through publications, patents, training, leadership on committees or research teams, and/or other ways that have improved the safety of food ingredients.

2020: James R. Coughlin

2018: Joseph V. Rodicks

2016: Carl Winter

2014: Charles H. Manley

2012: James Griffiths

2010: Barbara Petersen

2009: Bill Helferich

2008: Thomas Montville

2007: Michael W. Pariza

2006: George A. Burdock

2005: Ian C. Munro

2004: Andrew G. Ebert

2003: Steve L. Taylor

2001: Joseph F. Borzelleca

2000: Richard L. Hall