Distinguished Career Award in honor of Carl R. Fellers

Partner: Phi Tau Sigma – The Honor Society of Food Science and Technology

Award Description: Honors an individual who has brought distinguished recognition to the science of food profession through a career of exemplary contributions in innovation (research/industrial/other), leadership, service, and/or communication to the profession.

Award: $3,000 honorarium and a plaque, both from Phi Tau Sigma

Criteria & Eligibility: Nominees must have been employed in the science of food profession for at least 15 years before the application deadline. Nominees who are not members of Phi Tau Sigma shall be simultaneously elected to Phi Tau Sigma membership by that organization upon selection as recipient of the Distinguished Career Award in honor of Carl R. Fellers.

Priority consideration shall be given to a record of impactful achievements in innovation (research/industrial/other), leadership, service and/or communication relative to the quality, safety and nutritional value of food and the food supply.

Impacted groups can include the public, governmental agencies, associations, industry, and scientific and academic communities, and the impact can be felt within and/or outside the workplace of the candidate.

2022: Purnendu Vasavada

2021: Joe Regenstein

2020: Carl Winter

2019: Colin Dennis

2018: Charles H. Manley

2017: S. Suzanne Nielsen

2016: Gary List

2015: David Patrick Green

2014: H. Russell Cross

2013: Dennis R. Heldman

2012: Mary K. Schmidl

2011: Christine Bruhn

2010: Anthony Kotula

2009: Kathryn L. Kotula

2008: Robert B. Gravani

2007: Ken Lee

2006: Daniel Y.C. Fung

2005: Philip E. Nelson

2004: Barbara O. Schneeman

2003: Daryl B. Lund

2002: J. Ralph Blanchfield

2001: Myron "Mike" Solberg

2000: Dane T. Bernard

1999: Manfred Kroger

1998: Roy G. Arnold

1997: Paul F. Hopper

1996: Susan K. Harlander

1995: Fergus M. Clydesdale

1994: John H. Litchfield

1993: Gideon E. Livingston

1992: Gilbert A. Leveille

1991: David R. Lineback

1990: Richard L. Hall

1989: Frederick J. Francis

1988: Owen R. Fennema

1987: Roy E. Morse

1986: Edwin M. Foster

1985: Bernard S. Schweigert

1984: Emil Mrak