Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award

Purpose: To honor an IFT member for pursuit of humanitarian ideals and unselfish dedication that have resulted in significant contributions to the well-being of the food industry, academia, students, or the general public. 

Award: $3,000 honorarium from New York Section IFT and a plaque from IFT 

Eligibility: The nominee must have been an IFT member for the past 10 years and active in IFT at both the Section and National levels. In instances where there is no IFT Section level, activity in other food industry related organizations may be considered. The nominee must not have received any other IFT Achievement Award but may have been elected an IFT Fellow. 

The nominee must have made measurable contributions to the well-being of the food industry, academia, students in food science or closely related disciplines, and/or the general public. Such contributions must have demonstrated compassion and unselfish caring for the world and its people, measured not necessarily in terms of published papers or grants received but rather in terms of the number of lives enhanced by contact with the nominee or by the achievements of individuals as a result of such contact. 

Examples include but are not limited to outstanding activities in (1) academic advising or mentoring, (2) service to IFT or the industry, institutions, governments, or publics it serves, or (3) service to groups, or individuals in need (such as work in hunger programs or in the delivery of education to persons without other means of acquiring it). 

Special Instructions:

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination statement; must not be more than four typed pages. Do Not include a curriculum vitae or lists of publications and patents
  • Letter of reference

Nominations are now closed.

2019: Mary Kay Pohlschneider

2017: Louise Wicker

2015: Kenneth Marsh

2013: Olga Padilla-Zakour

2011: Fatemeh Malekian

2009: Rakesh Singh

2008: Donald Kramer

2007: Susan Kay Hall McWatters

2006: Lynn G. Turner

2005: George J. Flick, Jr.

2004: Barbara Rasco

2003: Alfred A. Bushway

2002: Carol Cooper

2001: Paul Jelen

2000: Joe M. Regenstein

1999: Arnold E. Denton

1998: Ruth M. Patrick

1997: Nell I. Mondy