International Food Security Award in honor of Bor S. Luh

International Food Security Award in honor of Bor S. Luh

Purpose: Honors a food professional or team working in an academic or research institute, company, or government agency whose outstanding efforts have resulted in one or more of the following:

  • International exchange of ideas in the field of food science and technology and/or food and nutrition security;
  • Better international understanding and cooperation to develop emerging technologies that address food and nutrition security; and
  • Contributing to technological development and transfer of food science and technology knowledge to enhance the food security of developing economies.

Sponsor: Bor S. Luh Endowment Fund of Feeding Tomorrow

Champion: IFT International Division

Award: $2,000 honorarium and a crystal award from IFT.

Eligibility: The industrialized world understands the need to improve the availability and nutrition of non-industrialized countries’ food supplies. However, there remains a great need and opportunity to identify solutions that meet these populations’ health needs and food preferences in a cost-effective manner for both consumers and companies.

This award is intended to recognize emerging research that made substantial advances on how foods can be better manufactured and made available for emerging economies. All countries listed under the World Bank Help Desk and lending group regions are qualifying emerging economies.

Special Instructions: Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination Statement (Must not be more than four typed pages.)
  • Letter of Reference

The submissions for the 2022 Achievement Awards are now closed.

2021: Joseph Awika

2020: Yen-Con Hung

2019: Valente B. Alvarez

2018: P. Kumar Mallikarjunan

2017: Joseph Jen

2016: Jae Park

2015: Joe Regenstein

2014: Theodore P. Labuza

2013: George E. Inglett

2012: Richard F. Stier

2011: Gleyn Bledsoe

2010: Syed S.H. Rizvi

2009: Anna V.A. Resurreccion

2008: Bruce Hamaker

2007: Manjeet S. Chinnan

2006: Miguel A. Jimenez

2005: INTSOY (International Soybean Program)

2004: Soliman Y.K. Shenouda

2003: Poul Hansen

2002: James H. Moy

2001: Gustavo V. Barbosa-Cánovas

2000: Khee Choon Rhee

1999: B. Onuma Okezie

1998: Herbert Ockerman

1997: Daniel Y.C. Fung

1996: Larry R. Beuchat

1995: Daryl B. Lund

1994: Alex Malaspina

1993: Jose Miguel Aguilera

1992: Malcolm C. Bourne

1991: University of Georgia & University of Nigeria

1990: Judson M. Harper

1989: Stephen S. Chang

1988: R. Paul Singh

1987: Adolph S. Clausi

1986: Richard L. Hall

1985: Keith H. Steinkraus

1984: James Bunnell

1983: F.V. Kosikowski

1982: Frederick J. Francis

1981: Frode Bramsnaes

1980: John C. Ayres

1979: John Hawthorn

1978: Stephen W. Bogyo

1977: Joseph H. Hulse

1976: Clinton O. Chichester

1975: Georg A. Borgstrom

1974: Hisateru Mitsuda

1973: Francis Aylward

1972: Fritz H. Reuter

1971: Aaron M. Altschul

1970: David B. Hand

1969: Nevin S. Scrimshaw

1968: Max Milner

1967: Zoltan I. Kertesz

1966: George F. Stewart

1965: Mortimer L. Anson

1964: E.C. Bate-Smith

1963: Emil M. Mrak

1962: Lawrence J. Lynch

1961: Maynard A. Joslyn

1960: James R. Vickery

1959: Ross A. Chapman

1958: Henri Cheftel

1957: Laurence V. Burton

1956: Robert S. Scull

2020: Alexander Mathys

2019: Christiani Jeyakumar Henry

2018: Dominique Bounie

2017: Manjeet Chinnan

2016: Pablo Juliano

2015: Octavio Paredes-Lopez

2014: Olive Yao Li

2013: Anna V.A. Resurreccion

2012: Bruce Hamaker