Collaborative Research Grant in honor of Marcel Loncin

Only awarded in even numbered years

Partner: Lomi Foundation

Grant Description: The prize, given every other year, was first awarded in 1994. To honor and provide research funding for an IFT member or nonmember scientist or engineer conducting basic chemistry/physics/engineering research applied to food processing and improvement of food quality. Prize money is to be used by the recipient in directing and carrying out a proposed research project, and to allow a successful scientist to help a young scientist(s) to also become successful.

Award: $50,000 (paid in two installments, $25,000/year for two years) and a crystal award from IFT

Criteria & Eligibility: The application must be submitted by an individual eligible to carry out the research, i.e., it is not to be a joint research proposal or a laboratory- manager proposal, although cooperative research is encouraged. The applicant may be from academia, industry, or government and the organization must verify on the application that it will agree to allow the applicant to work on the proposed research.

2022: Hang Xiao

2020: Julie M. Goddard

2018: Pawan Singh Takhar

2016: Shyam Sablani

2014: Lisa J. Mauer

2012: Wade Yang

2010: D. Julian McClements

2008: Shelly J. Schmidt

2006: José M. Aguilera

2004: Dietrich Knorr

2002: Jozef L. Kokini

2000: Syed S.H. Rizvi

1998: Theodore P. Labuza

1996: John M.V. Blanshard

1994: Werner Bauer