Undergraduate Research Competition

Phi Tau Sigma LogoDesigned to showcase outstanding research at the undergraduate level, this competition seeks students engaged in independent research who are interested in presenting at the IFT Annual Event. Finalists will have the opportunity to network with industry and academic members. 

Phi Tau Sigma: 2022 Competition Sponsor

2021-2022 Winners

  • First Place: Hannah Jones, Cornell University
  • Second Place: Natalia Brenes-Fernandez, University of Costa Rica
  • Third Place: Tomer Hatzir, Tel Hai College

2021–2022 Finalists

  • First Place: Elvis Garcia Jr, California Polytechnic State University, Pomona
  • Second Place: Kanon Kobata, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
  • Third Place: Christianne Yapor, California Polytechnic State University, Pomona


All finalists will be awarded a $500 travel stipend to attend the IFT Annual Event. Finalists are required to attend the IFT Annual Event in order to be eligible for the travel award. A certificate will be presented to each finalist during the IFTSA Closing Ceremony. 

  • First Place: $1,000
  • Second Place: $750
  • Third Place: $500


Any student member of IFT, as of March 15, 2023, who is an undergraduate student or someone who has not graduated after July 1, 2023, is eligible to compete. Work must have been done individually as an undergraduate. For complete details, consult the guidelines document for this competition.

2022-2023 Competition Submission and Guidelines

Applications for this competition close March 30, 2023, at 11:59 p.m. CT.

Submit your application

Download URC Rules & Regulations

Sample Verification Letter

Download sample letter (PDF)

Competition Chair

George Nyombaire, Tuskeegee University