IFT holds Leadership Election
On Jan. 3, 2012, IFT announced the slate of candidates for the 2012 Leadership Election. The candidates for President-Elect are Catherine Adams Hutt and Janet Collins. The candidates for members of the Board of Directors are John Coupland, Luis Fernandez, Bruce Ferree, Scott Lineback, Rebeca Lopez-Garcia, Robert McGorrin, Rakesh Singh, and Cindy Stewart. The candidates to serve as members of the Nominations and Elections Committee include Robert Brackett, Marianne Gillette, Indra Mehrotra, Lauren Shimek, and Lu Ann Williams.

During the election, from Feb. 8 to March 8, 2012, IFT members will be able to cast their ballots electronically from any Internet-accessible computer worldwide. IFT will send out an “Election Open” message via e-mail on Feb. 8, 2012, to all IFT voting members with details on how to cast your vote. Please forward any questions about the slate, petition process, or the online elections to Erin Carter, staff coordinator for the Nominations & Elections Committee, at [email protected].

Attend IFT’s premier event
Registration for the 2012 IFT Annual Meeting & Food Expo® will open on March 1, 2012. All of the events and activities planned—from the Scientific Program and the IFT Food Expo to the Pre-Annual Meeting Short Courses and the Awards Celebration and more—will allow you to learn about the newest trends, products, ingredients, technologies, and science and to make important connections with some of the industry’s most influential professionals.

The 2012 IFT Annual Meeting & Food Expo will be held June 25–28, 2012, in Las Vegas, Nev. Complete details about the event will be posted to www.am-fe.ift.org over the course of the next several weeks. A comprehensive preview of the event will appear in the May 2012 issue of Food Technology.

Grain Processing promotes Belknap
Grain Processing Corp. recently promoted Kelly Belknap to Applications Scientist for the Food, Pharmaceutical, and Personal Care Technical Services group. She joined the company in 2006 as an associate scientist and also served three years as a sales administrator in the customer service department. She is a Member of IFT.

KFRI elects Yoon President
Suk Hoo Yoon was elected as President of the Korea Food Research Institute (KFRI) for a three-year term. Yoon, a Professional Member of IFT, is Principal Research Scientist at Innovative Technology Research Division and Director of International Cooperation Office at KFRI. He conducts research on lipid chemistry and biotechnology. He earned his undergraduate degree at Seoul National University and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees at Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology.

--- PAGE BREAK ---

David Michael grows team
David Michael & Co. has named Xiaofan (Isabella) Gao Food Technologist. She is a Student Member of IFT.

Blommer adds to R&D staff
Three IFT members are the newest product development technologists for the research and development team at Blommer Chocolate Co. Carly Bombolevicz was promoted to the team. She joined Blommer in June 2010 as an intern while completing her degree in food science from Delaware Valley College. The company has hired Marie Loewen, who earned a B.S. degree in food science from Purdue University, and Caitlin Harvey, who earned a B.S. degree in culinary science from Drexel University.

Learn about healthful foods at Wellness 12
The Institute of Food Technologists Wellness 12 conference will provide information on how to align your product development activities with the wider consumer health agenda. IFT is also holding a pre-conference short course, Sensory Evaluation: Current Developments and Applications. The Wellness 12 pre-conference short course will be held March 26–27, 2012, and the Wellness 12 conference will be held March 28–29, both at the Intercontinental Chicago O’Hare, Rosemont, Ill. Visit www.ift.org/wellness, or see page 44 of this issue for more information.