Melanie Zanoza Bartelme

IFT presents candidates for Leadership Election

The IFT Nominations & Elections Committee announces the candidates for the 2015 Leadership Election. The candidates for presidentelect are John Coupland and Luis Fernandez. The candidates for members of the board of directors are Mohamed Badaoui Najjar, Pam Coleman, Carolyn Fisher, Jonathan Gray, Larry Keener, Robert McGorrin, Anthony Pavel, and Gunnar Sigge. IFT’s voting membership elects one member for president-elect and four members for the board of directors. 

The election will be held February 17–March 18. Please forward any questions about the slate of candidates, petition process, or the online elections to Kate Dockins, staff liaison to the Nominations & Elections Committee, at [email protected].

IFT, Tate & Lyle launch new student competition

The Institute of Food Technologists and Tate & Lyle Food Systems have announced a new student competition that will foster student innovation and scientific exploration of global food science issues. This new partnership focuses on the need for talented food scientists to meet future global demands for safe, nutritious, and affordable food.

Through the “IFT Global Student Innovation Challenge,” students from around the world will leverage their food science and technology knowledge to participate in a competition focusing on research and development challenges to creating products that meet marketplace needs. The inaugural competition asks students to design a dairy dessert by applying a food stabilizer system to create innovative textures. Four students will be selected as finalists and will receive a $3,000 travel stipend to attend IFT15 in Chicago in July 2015. The winning student will receive a plaque and a trip to visit one of Tate & Lyle’s Global Innovation Centers.

Preliminary proposals are due Jan. 1, 2015. Visit for more information.

UC Davis honors Bruhn

Christine Mattson Bruhn, a consumer food marketing specialist at the University of California, Davis, was honored by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. The award recognizes those whose contributions and achievements enhance the college’s ability to provide cutting-edge research, top-notch teaching, and innovative outreach.

“Through her distinguished research in consumer attitudes and behavior, coupled with expertise in communications, Dr. Bruhn has shaped food safety and health communication and helped bring science-based information to the public, the food industry, and government decision makers,” said Michael McCarthy, professor and chair, Dept. of Food Science and Technology.

An IFT professional member, Bruhn focuses her research on consumer attitudes toward food safety and quality, including toward production and processing technologies such as high-pressure processing, food irradiation, and food applications of biotechnology. Bruhn was elected an IFT Fellow in 2002 and received the Carl R. Fellers Award in 2011, and she is a Certified Food Scientist.

Davidson chosen as UT Institute Professor

The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture (UTIA) named P. Michael Davidson its first Institute Professor, a designation that recognizes a record of consistent outstanding performance as evidenced by excellence in teaching, research, extension, or clinical practice.

Davidson, a professional member of IFT, is a professor and former head of the Dept. of Food Science and Technology at UT. He has served on the IFT board of directors, as well as chair of the Food Microbiology Division, chair of the Intermountain Section of IFT, and chair of the Committee on Divisions, among others. He is also a Certified Food Scientist.

IFSCC appoints new chairs, commissioners

IFT recently announced the appointment of Doug Marshall (Eurofins) as chair and Ivette Bassa (Mondelēz International) as vice chair of the International Food Science Certification Commission (IFSCC). The IFSCC oversees the governance and policy making of the Certified Food Scientist (CFS) program. Additionally, the following new commissioners were appointed to serve three-year terms: Pam Coleman (Biofortis), Bronwyn Graham (Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology), Brenda Knapp-Polzin (Cargill), Katherine de Matos (SENAI), Lynne McLandsborough (University of Massachusetts), Dawn Merrill (Kerr Concentrates), and Alex Oliveira (Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute).

“We’re thrilled to have such a diverse commission that represents leading global organizations in food science and technology. This esteemed group will help us to continue to grow the Certified Food Scientist program worldwide to ensure that food scientists receive the recognition they deserve for their contributions to the safety and availability of the global food supply,” said Marshall.

For more information on CFS and IFSCC, please visit or e-mail [email protected].

Chobani hires Post

Robert C. Post, former adviser to First Lady Michelle Obama and former leader of U.S. Dept. of Agriculture’s (USDA) Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, joined Chobani as its senior director for nutrition and regulatory affairs.

“Making nutritious foods has been a core part of our brand since day one, and Robert’s life work embodies our vision and mission for better food in America that is accessible for all,” said Alejandro Mazzotta, Chobani’s vice president of global quality, food safety, and regulatory affairs.

As a key nutrition adviser to the First Lady, Post—a professional member of IFT—collaborated on the White House’s Let’s Move! Initiative, and he directed the evolution of the food pyramid into the current MyPlate initiative as acting executive director for the USDA’s Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion. In his most recent role as chief science officer for FoodMinds, a food and nutrition consulting and communications agency, he advised food companies on changes in the nutritional affairs environment.

Simmons joins Nagase America

Nagase America Corp. hired Sharrann Simmons for the newly created position of senior business manager for the Life Sciences division. Her initial focus will be on Nagase’s growing specialty food ingredient portfolio, which is marketed to the food, dietary supplements, and foodservice industries.

“Sharrann brings significant food industry experience and proven expertise to Nagase, which is essential to the growth of our food ingredients activities. This new position reinforces Nagase’s commitment to grow their food ingredients business on a global scale,” said Brad Hilborn, director of business development at Nagase America.

Simmons, a professional member of IFT, currently serves on the IFT board of directors for the 2014–2017 term. She achieved the distinction of Certified Food Scientist in 2013, and she was honored by Purdue University as a Distinguished Alumni in the School of Agriculture in 2003.

In Memoriam

IFT notes the passing of the following member: Audra McMillian 

Section & Division meetings 

Northern California
Dec. 11:
Holiday dinner. Pleasanton, Calif. Contact Imelda Vasquez at 650-802-0888 or [email protected], or visit

Dec. 2:
Holiday dinner. Kennett Square, Pa. Contact Mary Randzo at 856-435-8535 or [email protected], or visit