Trailblazer Award and Lectureship

Purpose: To honor exceptional leaders who have advanced the science at the nexus of nutrition or dietetics and food science for a least five (5) years. This award is conferred upon a leader, preferably a joint member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and the Institute of Food Technologists, who has demonstrated innovative contributions to improved health among underserved populations through at least one aspect of food science and technology, and has exhibited intellectual courage in research, instruction and/or communication at this intersection.

The lecture will be delivered each year, with the venue alternating between the IFT (even years) and the Academy (odd years) annual meetings. The lecture should be 45 minutes in length in order to create continuity with the rest of the scientific program. Individuals are limited to receiving the award once (either from the Academy or IFT).

The award recipient will receive complimentary registration for the Academy’s Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo, or the Institute of Food Technologists Annual Meeting & Food Expo®, complimentary lodging (at the meeting headquarters’ venue) and meals for three (3) nights and four (4) days during the recipient’s award meeting. The recipient will receive one-year complimentary membership to either the Academy of IFT (if the recipient is not already a member) or one year complimentary dues to one of the organizations (if the recipient is a member of both).

Sponsor: Institute of Food Technologists and the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (the Academy)

Award: $2,500 and a plaque

Eligibility: Candidates for the award need to 1. be members of the Academy or IFT; 2. have at least five years since receiving his/her last academic degree; 3. demonstrate and document impact of contributions at the food science and nutrition nexus; 4. demonstrate and document inspirational leadership among colleagues and collaborators.

Members of the Boards of Directors of either the Academy or IFT at the time of selection and/or presentation are not eligible to receive this award. Members of these Boards of Directors are eligible to receive this award three (3) years after completing their terms of serve.

Special Instructions:

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination Statement (Must not exceed 10 typed pages (double spaced; 12-point, Times New Roman); curriculum vitae (DV) summary not to exceed 10 pages, which includes educational background.)
  • Letter of Reference

This prize is awarded in even numbered years.

2020: Christine Bruhn

2018: Roger Clemens

2016: Connie Weaver

2014: Johanna T. Dwyer