College Bowl

IFTSA Competition

Purina logoSince 1985, the Institute of Food Technologists Student Association (IFTSA) College Bowl Competition has tested the knowledge of student teams from across the United States in the following areas: food science and technology, the history of foods and food processing, food law, and general IFT/food-related trivia. The College Bowl is designed to facilitate interaction among students from different universities and provides a forum for students to engage in friendly competition.

Teams for IFTSA Student Chapters compete in regional competitions within eight geographical areas, then the winning regional teams compete live in a final competition at IFT FIRST.

2023 College Bowl Competition Winners

Final Champion
Clemson University

University of Wisconsin-Madison

College Bowl Regions

Learn about the schools represented in each region.

  • Delaware Valley University
  • Middle East Technical University (Turkey)
  • North Carolina State University
  • The Pennsylvania State University
  • University of Delaware
  • University of Maryland
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Michigan State University
  • Purdue University
  • The Ohio State University
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Kentucky
  • University of Tennessee Knoxville 
  • Wayne State University
  • Cornell University
  • McGill University
  • Rutgers University
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Maine
  • University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Iowa State University
  • Kansas State University
  • North Dakota State University
  • South Dakota State University
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Missouri-Columbia
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Brigham Young University
  • Oregon State University
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of California, Davis
  • University of Idaho
  • Utah State University
  • Washington State University
  • California Polytechnic State 
  • University, Pomona (Cal Poly Pomona)
  • California Polytechnic State
  • University, San Luis Obispo (Cal Poly SLO)
  • California State University, Fresno
  • California State University, Long Beach
  • California State University, Los Angeles
  • California State University, Northridge
  • Chapman University
  • San Jose State University
  • University of Arizona
  • Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral
  • Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey Campus Querétaro
  • Louisiana State University
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Tecnológico de Monterrey Campus Monterrey
  • Tecnológico de Monterrey Campus Querétaro
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of Arkansas
  • University of Central Oklahoma
  • Universidad San Ignacio de Loyola – USIL (Peru)
  • Alabama A&M University
  • Clemson University
  • Florida A&M University
  • Mississippi State University
  • Tuskegee University
  • University of Florida
  • University of Georgia
  • University of Puerto Rico


Each finalist team will receive a reimbursement for team travel and registration to IFT FIRST up to $1,900. In addition to this reimbursement, the following prizes will be awarded.

  • First Place: $1,000
  • Second Place: $750


Teams may be composed of members of student chapters of IFT and IFT student members not affiliated with a chapter. Teams can include members from multiple chapters and non-affiliated members; however, each school may only be represented on one team and participants may only compete on one team. Teams should be made up of undergraduate and graduate members. Complete eligibility requirements are available in the competition guidelines document.

2023–2024 Competition Deadlines, Guidelines, and Roster Template

Deadline: February 1st, 2024

Fill out the team registration and submit 25 new questions via the online form


Submit Your Application

Rules & Guidelines

Team Roster Template (.xlsx)

Regional Competition Host Guidelines and Bid Form

Competition Chair

Juan Pablo Arevalo, Texas A&M University

April Huang, Cornell University