CHICAGO – March 30, 2021

The Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2021 IFT Achievement Awards. This year’s honorees include 14 individuals for their outstanding contributions to advancing the science of food. Among them are two who are receiving IFT’s highest honors: The Lifetime Achievement Award in Honor of Nicolas Appert and the Include Award in Honor of George Washington Carver.


“On behalf of the entire IFT community, I want to thank this year’s honorees for their commitment to advancing the science of food,” said IFT President Noel Anderson, PhD, CFS. “The impact of their tremendous contributions will have a lasting impact on our profession for years to come.”

The 2021 award recipients are as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award in Honor of Nicolas Appert
Eric Decker, PhD
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Include Award in Honor of George Washington Carver
Ruth Oniang’o, PhD
Rural Outreach Program-Africa and African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development

Distinguished Career Award in Honor of Carl R. Fellers
Joe Regenstein, PhD
Cornell University

Distinguished Service Award in Honor of Calvert L. Willey
Leslie Herzog
The Understanding & Insight Group LLC

Excellence in Education Award in Honor of William V. Cruess
John Coupland, PhD, CFS
The Pennsylvania State University

Humanitarian Award for Service to the Science of Food in Honor of Elizabeth Fleming Stier
Robert Gravani, PhD, CFS
Cornell University

Outstanding Partnership Award in Honor of Myron Solberg
Aurora Saulo, PhD
Food Science Interests LLC

Public Health Award in Honor of Babcock-Hart
Jianping Wu, PhD
University of Alberta

Outstanding Young Scientist Award in Honor of Samuel Cate Prescott
Xiaonan Lu, PhD
McGill University

Achievements in Microbial Research for Food Safety Award in Honor of Gerhard J. Haas
Yaguang Luo, PhD
U.S. Department of Agriculture, ARS, NEA, BARC, FQL, EMFSL

Food Packaging Award in Honor of Don Riester, Rees Davis, and Aaron Brody
Dong Sun Lee, PhD
Kyungnam University

Research and Development Award V.M. Balasubramaniam, PhD
The Ohio State University

Sensory & Consumer Sciences Achievement Award
John Hayes, PhD
The Pennsylvania State University

International Food Security Award in Honor of W.K. Kellogg and Bor S. Luh
Joseph Awika, PhD
Texas A&M University

To learn more about the 2021 IFT Achievement Award recipients, please visit

IFT20 Annual Event & Food Expo
IFT20 Chicago IL
Join Us Online right arrow
FIRST, IFT’s new Annual Event and Digital Experience is one of the largest events of its kind bringing together science of food professionals from around the globe representing all segments of the food profession—research and design, ingredients, safety and quality, technology, equipment, processing, packaging, manufacturing, suppliers and buyers, policy makers, and academics—all converging with the intention to inspire and transform collective knowledge into innovative solutions to help advance our planet’s food safety, nutrition, and sustainability.