Samuel Cate Prescott Award

Purpose: To honor an IFT member who has shown outstanding ability in research in some area of food science and technology.

Award: $3,000 honorarium and a plaque from IFT  

Eligibility: The nominee must, by July 1 of the year of the presentation, (a) be younger than 36 years of age, or (b) have received his or her highest degree within the previous 10 years. Special attention is given to contributions in methodology, competence shown, and effects of the research on advances in food science. 

Special Instructions 

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination Statement; must not be more than four typed pages
  • Numbered List of nominees publications and patents (to save space, refer to them in the nomination statement using these numbers)
  • Letter of Reference

Nominations are now closed.

2020: Guodong Zhang

2019: Han-Seok Seo

2018: Barbara Kowalcyk

2017: Emmanuel Hatzakis

2016: Lili He

2015: Julie Goddard

2014: Hang Xiao

2013: Nitin Nitin

2012: Qixin Zhong

2011: Soo-Yeun Lee

2010: Mario Ferruzzi

2009: Manuel Castillo

2008: F. Xavier Malcata

2007: Jochen Weiss

2006: Dong-Hyun Kang

2005: MaryAnne Drake

2004: Sheryl A. Barringer

2003: Martin Wiedmann

2002: Kathryn J. Boor

2001: Q. Howard Zhang

2000: Susan L. Hefle

1999: D. Julian McClements

1998: Casimir C. Akoh

1997: Eric A. Decker

1996: Kathryn L. McCarthy

1995: Marc Hendrickx

1994: James L. Steele

1993: No Recipient

1992: Shelly J. Schmidt

1991: Michael J. McCarthy

1990: Carl A. Batt

1989: Todd R. Klaenhammer

1988: James J. Pestka

1987: Michael P. Doyle

1986: Jozef L. Kokini

1985: Barbara Olds Schneeman

1984: Henry K. Leung

1983: J. Gregory

1982: R. Paul Singh

1981: Paul Carroad

1980: John Erdman

1979: No Recipient

1978: James M. Flink

1977: Larry R. Beuchat

1976: Lowell D. Satterlee

1975: Anthony J. Sinskey

1974: Thomas W. Keenan

1973: Norman F. Haard

1972: Theodore P. Labuza

1971: Darrell E. Goll

1970: Steven R. Tannenbaum

1969: Harry Yamamoto

1968: Herbert O. Hultin

1967: Robert G. Cassens

1966: No Recipient

1965: Ernest J. Briskey

1964: Edgar Allan Day