Cargill named Timothy A. Thomas Director of Supplier Diversity in October. In this newly created position, Thomas will be responsible for accelerating the efforts made by Cargill to add minority-owned, women-owned, and Small Business Administration designated suppliers. A Cargill employee since 1992, Thomas was a senior attorney whose clients included Cargill’s animal nutrition, financial markets, grain and oilseed, cotton, and sugar businesses. Cargill is based in Minneapolis, Minn.

Control Products, Inc. welcomed Paul Carlson as its new Vice President of Operations in September. He will be working on developing operations personnel and improving manufacturing processes and customer support. Carlson previously worked for IMI Cornelius, Coca-Cola, and Trane Co. on engineering, product, and equipment management. Control Products is based in Chanhassen, Minn.

Danisco has added Jos Kleppers as the President of its Flavours Division. In addition to 20 years of experience in the industry, Kleppers spent the last three years with Sensient, where he was promoted to President of Flavours and Fragrances Worldwide. Under his leadership, Sensient achieved record earnings over the last two years. Danisco is based in Copenhagen, Denmark.

DuPont Food Industry Solutions, a strategic business partner for food, beverage, and food ingredient companies, has added Marvin J. Rudolph and James C. Ko to its leadership team. Both assume the title of Business Director. Rudolph has nearly 35 years of experience in food product development, working on concept and prototype generation through product rollout at Lehigh Dairy, General Foods, and Ragu Foods. He was most recently the Food Product Development Director at Arthur D. Little Inc. Ko has more than 25 years of experience in a variety of roles at companies including Kraft and Bristol-Myers Squibb, with a proven track record in general management, operations, project management, business development, and international trade. DuPont Food Industry Solutions is based in Wilmington, Del.

Fishery Products International, Inc. expanded its Ingredient Sales Division by adding Brian Beloin as an Ingredient Sales Manager. He will be working with current and prospective customers throughout North America. He most recently worked with the product development group for Togo’s restaurant chain. FPI is based in Danvers, Mass.

Ingenium Packaging LLC appointed Patrick E. McCallister Director of Strategic Business Implementation in August. Prior to joining Ingenium, he served as Group Manager of Package & Process Technology for Con Agra Foods in Irvine, Calif. An industry veteran, he has held senior-level packaging engineering positions with Con Agra, Abbott Laboratories, and Continental Can. Ingenium Packaging LLC is based in Canton, Ohio.

NSF International appointed Kevan Lawlor President and Chief Executive Officer in September. During the past 18 years at NSF, Lawlor served as the Chief Financial Officer, Senior Vice President of Food Safety, and President of NSF International Strategic Registrations, Ltd. He replaces Dennis Mangino, who is retiring after a nine-year tenure as President and CEO. NSF is based in Ann Arbor, Mich.

Venkat Munukulta has joined Provesta Flavor Ingredients, a division of the Burns Philp Group. He will be working as a Research Scientist at the yeast plant in Hutchinson, Minn. He previously worked as Senior Scientist with a potato processing facility in Jamestown, N. Dak. He specializes in production analysis, recovery management, and process development. Burns Philp is based in Sydney, Australia.

Four inducted into packaging hall of fame

Members of the Packaging Education Forum inducted four packaging professionals into the Packaging Hall of Fame: William E. Archibald, William R. Armstrong, Richard G. Lee, and Arnie Orloski Jr. The Class of 2003 was recognized during the Packaging Leadership Awards Ceremonies on October 13. For the first time this year, the election process was handled entirely online. More information is available at

O’Donnell named ADSA president
Joseph O’Donnell, Executive Director of the California Dairy Research Foundation, has begun his term as 2003–04 President of the Board of Directors of the American Dairy Science Association (ADSA). Previously, he served as an ADSA officer for three years, was Vice President in 2002, and spent two years on the Federation of Animal Science Societies (FASS) board. In addition to ADSA, he is active in the American Society for Nutritional Sciences, International Dairy Federation (IDF), and Institute of Food Technologists and serves as chair of the IDF Standing Committee on Nutrition and Health and on the Editorial Advisory Board of Dairy Foods magazine.

Food safety awards presented
In August, the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) presented awards recognizing excellence in food safety. Wegman’s Food Markets Inc. received the Black Pearl Award for outstanding achievement in corporate excellence in food safety and quality. Robert Gravani received the Fellow Award for his contribution to IAFP with distinction over an extended period of time. Larry Beuchat won the Harry Haverland Citation Award for his years of devotion to the ideals and objectives of the association. John Sofos received the Educator Award for outstanding service to the public, the association, and the arena of education in food safety and food protection. Fred Weber received the Harold Barnum Industry Award for outstanding service to the public, the association, and the food industry. J. Stan Bailey received the Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award for outstanding contributions in the laboratory and a commitment to the development of innovative and practical analytical approaches in support of food safety. Alex Von Holy received the International Leadership Award for dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and promotion of the mission of the association in countries outside the United States and Canada.

Soybean award created
The Industrial Oil Products Div. of the American Oil Chemists’ Society created the United Soybean Board’s Industrial Uses of Soybean Oil award. The award will recognize research into new industrial uses or applications for soybeans. The winner will receive a plaque recognizing the achievement as well as a $3,000 honorarium. Nominations must be sent by December 1, 2003; nominees need not be members to be considered. The award will be presented at the AOCS Annual Meeting May 9–12, 2004.

Integrated pest management report issued
The Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST) has released a report analyzing the issues involved in pest control. The report, Integrated Pest Management: Current and Future Strategies, explores the scientific, political, and environmental contexts in which integrated pest management has developed over the past 20 years. In addition to exploring the distinct but interlinked ecosystems, biological controls and new technology are also analyzed. The report is available at